(Note: when I say “Preterism” in this post, I’m talking about what is called either Orthodox Preterism or Partial Preterism. Full preterism is heresy.)

For a long time I had multiple problems with Preterism. My eschatology started as dispensationalist (Left Behind view of the end-times) because of that book and because, quite frankly, everyone that I knew believed it. However, after becoming more and more familiar with the Bible I kept noticing inconsistencies with the dispensationalist view. I read magazines like Midnight Call to see what their answers were for many of these things. Though they offered a lot of good insight on certain things, I believe that many of their defenses for dispensationalism are just wrong. I found the most baseless theory in dispensationalism to be the theory that says the seven churches in the book of Revelation are 7 “church ages.” Where is any hint in the book (specifically the first few chapters) of Revelation of that being the case? Dispensationalists will always say that we are in the last age: the age of Laodicea (the lukewarm church). I agree that a lot of the church in America is lukewarm, but is that the case all over the world? Certainly not. Plus, what if the dispensationalist doctrine came 100 years before the 1830’s? More than likely people in the 1790’s would have said they were in the church age of Laodicea.

After seeing that and several other major problems, I dropped dispensationalism. I became an Amillenial futurist in my first or second year of college (can’t quite remember which). Basically, I was open minded to many views on the end times while holding that position. In a way, I still hold that position.

This summer I started reading N.T. Wright’s The Challenge of Jesus. His explanation on things like the Herodian temple, Jesus parables, Old Testament prophecies, etc. began to help me understand preterism and why it makes sense. Later in July I picked up Hank Hanegraaf’s The Apocalypse Code. I read it and a lot of my mistaken thoughts on preterism were corrected. For instance, I thought that preterists believed that Jesus second coming was in 70 A.D. with the fall of Jerusalem and the destruction of the temple when the reality is that they believe no such thing.

After reading through the various arguments in the book as well as other places on the internet, I cannot refute them. That does not mean that a refutation does not exist, but I have not found it. If I ever do, I’ll post them and my preterist friends and I can have a good debate here or elsewhere.

So, what’s the next step? Counter-research! I’ve heard a good many of the preterist arguments, now I want to hear the counter arguments from scholars who disagree. I haven’t jumped on the bandwagon…yet. However, I am thinking about it.

